Different run levels in linux

There are seven run levels in a Linux systems. These run levels are:

0: Halt System
1: Single User Mode
2: Basic multi-user mode without NFS
3: Full multi-user mode
4: unused
5: Multi user mode with GUI
6: Reboot

You can switch (without rebooting the machine) to any of these run levels by running init command followed by the runlevel id.
For example:
init 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *